top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSarjenka Kuryliw

Monday Moments and Memories

Here are some submitted stories from both teachers and former students. We look froward to reading and sharing many more experiences! Contest closed Thursday, May 6! Sometimes the best memories make you laugh from a teacher: A grade two student stopped me in the hallway with a shocked looked on her face and said, "WOW teacher, did YOU have a bath last night?" ...Why, yes student thanks for noticing!

Sometimes the best memories tug at your heart strings:

As I am sitting here pondering about my favourite experiences or memories of school, I suddenly had a multitude of all those memories and experiences exploding in my head. There are so many that jump out at me; however, I will share two memories that are very dear to me.


This memory involves one of my grade 12 students that was graduating. We will call her Sally. She came from a lower income family and money was tight. This young lady was very sweet and I just had a need to help her.


One evening, while I was watching Global News, a segment came up on free grad dresses. I am not going into detail on the segment. Needless to say I made it my mission to get a hold of the young lady that started this “free grad dress thing.”


Need to speed up this story. Well it turned out that Sally was one of the first groups of girls that were chosen to go pick out their grad dresses. Sally was onto dress number two, and she came out of the dressing room. She looked like a little princess in a fairy tale.


I ended up doing a short interview, everyone in Canada that watches Global News got the chance to see me balling and Sally, the “Little Princess” had her fairy tale grad.


So to close off, I do not have time to share another memory. Maybe one day you can read it in my memoirs.


Sometimes the best memories stay with you for lifetime as stated by local teacher Roxanne Pottle: About ten years ago, I became the homeroom teacher of a tough jr high student. His behaviour was confrontational and he loved to be the class clown. I soon discovered that he was illiterate and found school very difficult. He was one of the most challenging students I ever taught.

I never thought it would happen, but by working one on one with him he began to read and experience some academic successes. We formed a bond and enjoyed teasing each other. We developed a mutual respect and affection for each other that continues to this day. His transformation from an angry student became a highlight of my career. Sometimes the simple things at a young age leave the biggest impact on our former students:

One experience that I will always remember and cherish is when we had our kindergarten graduation. We all gathered on the stage in our fancy clothes and I felt very proud. I got some lovely flowers from my family. It was about that time I realized I wanted to become a teacher.


Sometimes the little things can make your smile decades later:

My favourite experience in kindergarten is when I got to lead the class. I also really enjoy playing with all my friends. I am proud that I can walk to the main door by myself.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Throwback Thursday

An anonymous throwback from a member of our community: In junior high I played the clarinet, not very well, but the music teacher, Mr. Jeffrey, was very passionate about music. He encouraged my frie

Teacher Tuesday

Local teacher Treena Williams shares a favourite memory: In my practicum I had a set of twins walk into the classroom. Their eyes locked on me as one thing was slightly different. I had curled my hai

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page